## Announcement from The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan

## Ryoji Noyori Prize sponsored by Takasago International Corporation

and administered by The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan

**Ryoji Noyori Prize**, sponsored by Takasago International Corporation, was established in 2002 by The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan (SSOCJ) in commemoration of Professor Ryoji Noyori's winning of the 2001 Nobel Prize in Chemistry as well as the 60th anniversary of SSOCJ.

The purpose of the Prize is to recognize outstanding contributions to research in asymmetric synthetic chemistry defined in its broadest sense.

The Prize, which consists of a certificate, a medallion, and \$10,000, is bestowed every year to a recipient meeting the above mentioned criteria. The International Prize Committee selects a recipient, and the recipient shall deliver a prize lecture at the annual general meeting of SSOCJ at which the Prize will be presented.

The Winner of the Prize for the award year 2021 is Erick M. Carreira, Professor of Chemistry, ETH-Zürich, Department of Chemistry and Applied Biosciences, Institute of Organic Chemistry, Switzerland.

**Professor Carreira**'s research program is well known for its scientific depth and thematic breadth. Over the past three decades Carreira has successfully established himself in various areas, including natural products synthesis, methodology, asymmetric catalysis, medicinal chemistry, and chemical biology. In catalysis Carreira has developed concepts leading to a variety of metal-based catalysts for a wide range of catalytic, enantioselective aldehyde addition reactions, alkyne activation, conjugate addition reactions, cycloadditions, and allylation reactions. Carreira has pioneered the use of chiral olefins as steering ligands for catalytic enantioselective catalysis with Ir- and Rh- complexes. He also developed olefin functionalization reactions with cobalt and manganese catalysts, enabling synthesis of organochlorides, azides, hydrazides, nitriles. The work served to inspire subsequent developments in what is termed as HAT chemistry, widely employed in the service of complex molecule synthesis. A family of Ir[P,olefin] complexes enabled the identification of fully stereodivergent, dual-catalytic, enantioselective transformations,



providing convenient access to the full range of stereochemical diversity of products from the same set of starting materials under identical conditions.

The past recipients:

Henri B. Kagan (2002)	Gilbert Stork (2003)
Dieter Seebach (2004)	Tsutomu Katsuki (2005)
David A. Evans (2006)	Tamio Hayashi (2007)
Andreas Pfaltz (2008)	Yoshio Okamoto (2009)
Eric N. Jacobsen (2010)	Hisashi Yamamoto (2011)
Masakatsu Shibasaki (2012)	Barry M. Trost (2013)
Dieter Enders (2014)	Larry E. Overman (2015)
Keiji Maruoka (2016)	David W. MacMillan(2017)
Yoshito Kishi (2018)	Scott E. Denmark (2019)
Tsuneo Imamoto (2020)	

The members of the International Prize Committee for the award year 2021:

Seijiro Matsubara (Chairman)

Takahiko Akiyama	5
David W. MacMillan	5
Tomislav Rovis	1
Michinori Suginome	

Scott E. Denmark Takeshi Ohkuma Mikiko Sodeoka

## **Call for Nominations for the Award Year 2022**

## (Deadline May 1, 2022)

Any individual may nominate one individual for the award year 2022 by May 1, 2022.

The nomination form can be downloaded from the SSOCJ web site at *https://www.ssocj.jp/en*. The documents submitted are retained on file for three award years.



1-5 Kanda-Surugadai, Chiyoda-Ku, Tokyo, 101-0062 Japan Tel: +81-3-3292-7621 Fax: +81-3-3292-7622 Website: https://www.ssocj.jp/ Preferred method of submittal is by e-mail attachment of the form.

e-mail address: support@ssocj.or.jp

However, submittal by express or conventional mail is also acceptable.



TAKASAGO INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION

Nissay Aroma Square 17F 5-37-1 Kamata, Ota-Ku, Tokyo, 144-8721 Japan Tel:+81-3-5744-0511 Fax: +81-3-5744-0512 Website: https://www.takasago.com